It has been a while …

Although I have been on an Artful Journey this past year, I have not slowed down enough to document it. I guess I have kinda been all over the place.

I am going to take a step back, and rather than trying to backtrack, and include past adventures, I am going to start with the present.

We just got home from an Anniversary Trip to New Orleans where I fell in love with the non pretentious style of artwork I saw. I have decided that I want to spruce up our arbor NOLA style for the summer. I took down most of my butterfly motif and I am going to update and re-purpose much of it, along with adding some new pieces. It will not be anything too fancy, but we will enjoy our warm summer evenings out there reminiscing about our trip none the less.

First, I tend to create something with my Cricut every day. It could be something as simple as a stencil for a sign I am making, or a complicated home decor piece. I find working with my Cricut a way to relax, and enjoy the moment.

My garden is also a place I can relax. Once everything comes in, hopefully it will provide most of our fruit and vegetables for the summer. I had just planted late April, but we have already enjoyed a crisp made from our boysenberry bushes (we have established boysenberry, blackberry, raspberry, strawberry and a couple blueberry bushes along the fences,all over our yard.)

I did plant a few fall squash plants this past weekend, I am addicted to living off the land, and I actually can incorporate my love of crafting into my gardening by creating plant markers. I just prepped a few more tiles to make new ones for the Acorn and Butternut Squash plants.

They are super easy to make, and hold up well in the garden. I made some for my thyme last summer, and they still look like new. I have found that Cricut Outdoor Vinyls hold up great even with So Cal Sun beating down on the tiles.

 

The ones I am currently working on are being made with 4 by 4 and 3 by 6 tiles, and PVC T joints. I am using E6000 to adhere the T to the back of the tile, and using paint stirrers to hold them and place them into the ground.

 

Well that is enough rambling for now. Time to get dirt and glue under my nails again today! Happy crafting and gardening all!

This entry was posted in Art, Garden. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

